Making Room for Improvement and #WriteMotivation

I have a quote on my blog somewhere by Ernest Hemingway:

Ernest Hemingway

“We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.”

Ernest Hemingway, The Wild Years

From someone I would consider a master of the craft of writing, we realize that if he never stopped learning how to improve his craft, neither should we. In that vein, I would like to add a stretch goal this month. To make at least one of the books I read to be about improving writing.
Here are my February goals:
  1. Read one book every week, one of which is about how to improve my writing.
  2. Post on every member’s blog once per week.
  3. Send out 15 agent queries.
  4. Do not get depressed when I am rejected.
  5. Finish final edit of TPR.
  6. Outline all of TGM. Decide on POV and tense for TGM.

To wrap up January, I completed all but my first goal, which feels pretty good.

Good luck to everyone in February. I look forward to visiting you all over the next few weeks!

4 thoughts on “Making Room for Improvement and #WriteMotivation

  1. Hey, Heather! Let us know if you come across some good how-to-improve books. And if you get depressed about those rejections, there are loads of us out here who know exactly how you feel- lots of shoulders to cry on. Don’t worry about it!

    • heathercashman says:

      Thanks, Bess! I will let you know how it goes with the rejection. I’ll do a post on some great books I know of already. And I am always on the lookout as well.

    • heathercashman says:

      Whenever I get rejected I want to rip up the entire manuscript. Thankfully my wonderful CP, KT, has helped me on that front. But I might need some cookies from the rest of you. Thanks for the support!

Leave a comment